Reviews

Loni 5/5     *****  Stayed January 2019 – Airbnb review
This home is impeccable – absolutely gorgeous from top to bottom, inside and out! A lot of love went into designing this home and its amenities, and you can tell! The view is unforgettable, and the paintings and quotes in each bedroom are a beautiful touch! The rooms are spacious, the layout is super comfortable, and the finishings, bedding and towels are luxurious – no detail was left unturned. The water cooler was a very thoughtful surprise and very much appreciated! Is it possible to exceed 5 stars? Because this place would, we loved everything about it! As an owner of a couple of Airbnb’s in Nashville, I’m familiar with how much goes into creating a space and hosting a rental, and Diane hit the grand slam with Casa Flor De Mayo! I’ll definitely be spreading the word on our rental socials! Kate and the management company were also a pleasure, and made everything so easy! One of my favorite things was walking the trail out back to catch the sunset at Punta Sur, it’s a magical place! Also, the fish tacos at Caribbean Brisas are a must! The location was super convenient to anywhere on the island, and we had a blast exploring on our golf cart! This place is truly a gem and we can’t wait to come back! Thank you for creating and sharing this heavenly place, Diane!

Meghan 5/5     *****  Stayed February 2019 – Airbnb review
Everything about Casa Flor De Mayo was wonderful! Diane was very responsive to my initial questions and explained everything to us about the booking. Very soon after we reserved the house, we heard from the property management company that oversees the house. They were incredibly helpful in booking dinner to be catered at the house the first night we arrived (Josafat Baez with Entre Sabores, which was absolutely delicious, very reasonably priced and I highly recommend), having a golf cart to be delivered upon our arrival and arranging for massages to be done at the house. Kate with the property management company was there to show us into the house and got us quickly checked in, and was prompt at 7am the day we departed to help us check out. As for the house, it is even more beautiful than the pictures show. The view is absolutely incredible. The house was impeccably clean and modern. We used 4 of the 5 available bedrooms. 3 of the bedrooms have king beds that face the ocean and the other 2 face the driveway and have single beds. My husband and I took one of the bedrooms with 2 singles and the management company made it up to be a king bed prior to our arrival. I was concerned it would feel like 2 beds shoved together and would separate during the night, but it was actually very comfortable and if I didn’t know it was actually 2 single beds, I probably wouldn’t have even noticed. The bathrooms were very spacious, sparkling clean, had closets and safes, soap, shampoo/conditioner, plenty of TP and the fluffiest towels I’ve ever used. The rainfall showers were wonderful! The kitchen was well equiped with had everything we could think of that we would need. We really appreciated the water cooler that was provided. We used the washer dryer once and that was nice to have. We really appreciated the beach towels that were provided for use and we took those up to north beach the 2 days we went. The internet was fast and reliable. We enjoyed the pool and deck so much, both during the day and in the evening! A little local cat welcomed us and one of my sister-in-laws fed her (we named her Callie, she’s a calico) throughout our stay and she hung out nearby anytime we were out by the pool. The people we met were lovely, 3 of our family members walked 3 doors south one morning to “drop-in yoga” and highly enjoyed it. We walked down the path to Punta Sur each morning and what a way to start the day. We hated leaving so much! It was a trip of a lifetime. I was nervous about renting a house through airbnb in another country (we are from USA) with very few reviews at the time I reserved it, but everything worked out perfectly…..even better than we imagined.

Colleen 5/5     ****  Stayed February 2019 – Facebook review
We stayed at Casa Flor de Mayo this past February and had a great time! The house has everything you could need. The beds are super comfortable and we loved the design of the house. We were there with adults but the home has everything you need for children, including toys and movies. We can’t wait to return with our son.

Marc 4/5     ****  Stayed February 2019 – VRBO review – Great home in a great location on the island
This house is perfect if you are looking to stay on Isla but away from all the chaos of the tourist areas. Very relaxing, as advertised. The owners and management company are very responsive.

Heather 5/5     ***** Stayed March 2019 – VRBO review  – Beautiful and extremely accommodating house!
The house is gorgeous with an amazing view. It’s peaceful, tranquil and truly accommodating to our party of 11! Diane was extremely helpful anytime we had questions and the property managers, gabby and Santiago were just as helpful. This is been a wonderful vacation for our family and we hope to come back again!!!

David     5/5*****  Stayed March 2019 – TripAdvisor review
We stayed here at the end of march and had a great time. It is a little away from downtown which was really nice. The view is unbelievable and the house is perfect! We had two golf carts and found it easy to get anywhere we wanted on the island. I would highly recommend this house!

Nora 5/5     *****  Stayed April 2019 – Airbnb review
Had a lovely time on Isla Mujeres at the Casa! We fit 10 people easily into the house and it never felt crowded. Bedrooms all had AC (a must) and ensuite bathrooms (a lovely surprise). The house is immaculate and has all the amenities. We spent most of the weekend on the back patio and in the pool, directly overlooking the ocean. The house is in a less-populated part of the island, but a few minutes drive by golf cart to restaurants, beaches, and shops. We loved how quiet it was! Diane was a very responsive remote host and her onsite staff were very helpful, if a little slow to respond (understandably, on a Sunday). Highly recommend Casa Flor de Mayo!

Scott 5/5     ****  Stayed April 2019 – VRBO review
We were in Isla for the wedding of our youngest son and the Casa was wonderful and perfectly complemented a busy week of wedding activity. The Casa has a very comfortable layout with the pool and pool deck right outside the main level areas. Our ages ranged from 88 to 3 and the house accommodated everyone. There are in essence 4 master suites each with gorgeous bathrooms. A fifth bedroom without a bath has no access to a pool or patio – which was perfect for our grandchildren 6, 4 and 3. Located near Punta Sur, we were at the quiet end of the island but golf carts put us 10-15 minutes from downtown, Playa Norte and all that goes on at the busy end of the island. Sunrises are fantastic and is it soothing just sitting at the pool and looking out onto the waters of the Gulf. There was always a comfortable breeze on this side of the island. The Kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for our group of 9 and the patio and balconies had plenty of seating for us and other family staying locally who visited. Kate, the concierge for the house was very helpful and responded instantly when we contacted her on the house smart phone that is provided loaded with other local contacts and references, including cabs and a physician our son and daughter in law used when one of the kids got sick. The WiFi was strong and reliable, the pool was serviced and cleaned regularly and the only maintenance item we requested, gas for the fire pit on the pool deck, was provided immediately. The owner provided a personal touch by checking in with us on our day of arrival but otherwise we knew we could contact her but did not come across any need to. Casa Flor de Mayo was perfect for us!

Dennis 5/5     *****  Stayed April 2019 – VRBO review –  Fantastic new villa on the coast
We loved our stay at Casa Flor De Mayo. The layout was perfect for our 2 families of four. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything we needed the nights we stayed into eat. Dining room table seats 8 people and the house allows you to open up portions of the home to enjoy the sea breeze in portions while running the AC in others. Very well maintained and quality construction. The villa is located close to the Southern tip of the island, just a short distance from the beach clubs on the Cancun side of the Southern Tip. The downtown area and North Beach is a 20 minute cart ride. The owners were super helpful ensuring we had everything we needed and helped arrange golf carts, airport transportation, fishing trips, etc. Highly recommended and we would stay here again when we return.

Kim 5/5     *****  Stayed May 2019 – Trip Advisor review
We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Isla. We had the luxury of staying at Casa Flor de Mayo and it exceeded every expectation we had. This house is Amazing and you can’t go wrong. Waking up to the beautiful views of the Caribbean and hanging out in the pool daily was paradise. Truly a sun fanatics dream. Diane was great through out the booking process and was readily available for anything needed. We have traveled many places and rented homes throughout Mexico and this is a real gem! Thank you again for everything and can’t wait to return!

Marissa      5/5*****  Stayed May 2019 – Airbnb review
First of all, this home is beautiful! The views from the entire back of the house are ridiculous overlooking the ocean and cliffs. Second, the service at this house was great. Check-in was easy and very thorough binder of information about the home and island. So many great amenities, I would definitely recommend this home. We stayed here for my wedding and the entire bridal party stayed for 4 days. We used the space for pictures and to get ready the day of the wedding and we couldn’t have been happier with the space!

____________________________________

2018

Phil V.     5/5 *****  Stayed Jul 2018 – VRBO review.  Awesome property
Great brand new property. Super nice management team. The best of isla mujeres.

Belal     5/5 *****  Stayed August 2018 – Airbnb review.
Casa Del Flor exceeded all my expectations and I couldn’t have been happier with my stay. The house has all new amenities and serviced perfectly. Diane was a gracious host and was always available for all my needs. A birthday I’ll never forget! Thanks again, would recommend it to all my friends.

NNiven     5/5 *****  Stayed August 2018 – Trip advisor review.  Wow, simply wow! Breathtaking!
A beautifully designed, new home with all the modern amenities and the perfect location to take in the incredible ocean view with wrap around, floor to ceiling windows on both floors. The infinity pool left us breathless while our family celebrated hours of dining and game play in the spacious living areas. THIS is what it’s all about…a retreat on an island meant for retreating yet perfectly situated to get anywhere fast…not that you’ll want to leave. We can’t wait to return.

Helmuth     5/5 *****  Stayed August 2018 – Airbnb review.
Beautiful Home, wonderful location, excellent hosts…. what more could one ask for?

TerraTroter     5/5 *****  Stayed August 2018 – Trip advisor review.  Beautifull house and the best view!!!
We liked everything about our stay in Casa Flor de Mayo! The house is brand new, beautifully and tastefully decorated, fully equipped, with high and big showerheads, nice linens and towels…. The view is the best!!!! We didn’t want to even leave the house to be able to see that view every moment! Even to have dinner, we would love to order in to be able to have a nice dinner while seeing the sunset. And since the house faces the Caribbean side, you get to enjoy the breeze coming in from the sea. We rented a golf cart to get around the island, and it was so much fun! And practical! The swimming pool was a delicious temperature! Not too cold and not too warm. The outdoor swivel glider chairs are so comfortable! The list goes on and on! We are already planning on when to return again!!!

Kelsey     5/5 *****  Stayed August 2018 – Airbnb review
Diane’s home is fabulous and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. The home is located in a great location on Isla Mujeres (about a 8 min taxi ride from ferry) and fit very comfortably our group of 10. It is picture perfect inside, clean and comfortable with huge windows with a beautiful pool and ocean view. Kate, the property manager, met us promptly at check in and was very helpful with information on the island. We used Anna Laura as our main taxi contact, she was so amazing and helpful in arranging taxis for our large group (4 per taxi). The pool was a comfortable temperature and always clean. The grounds were well kept. We hired a personal chef upon arrival, who had made a fabulous dinner and unlimited margaritas. A must after a long day of traveling. All of which was suggested by the management, who was very helpful in recommending things to do on island. We also hired an in house massage… and she was outstanding. Our main purpose was to swim with whale sharks. Be careful of pirate boats. We were very impressed with Mexico divers and on Isla Mujeres as companies who respect the animal and the customer:) Diane was a fabulous long distant host, very gracious. We truly can’t wait to stay here again. Pictures don’t do this home justice, it is breathtaking. By the way did I mention the trail that takes you to some Mayan ruins, a great way to start the morning with a little hike. Fully equipped kitchen. And a/c In 4/5 bedrooms. By the way, the ac, we turned off while we were out and about to be conscious of the environment and cost, but when we got back we turned the ac on right away and it almost instantly cooled the house. It was always a comfortable temp inside the house. Can’t praise this place enough. Loved loved loved our stay. Thanks again Diane!!! -Plenty towels, plates, and cups for 10 people -Grocery store is a 5 min taxi ride. -Rent a golf cart at least one day during your stay -Tv in almost every room -2 living areas with a tv in each -loved the blue tooth boom box -local cell phone available to make local calls -great informative guest book -dvd player -even a printer (which we never used) – loved the access to washer and dryer downstairs:)

Sean P     5/5 *****  Stayed September 2018 – Trip advisor review.  Among the Best in Isla Mujeres!!!
I could not ask for a better vacation! I stayed at this home with my family and friends in September. Everything was perfect…..the booking process, coordinating check in and check out, the home, the attentiveness of the property manager, the lovely owners…..everything was perfect! We stay in a different home every time we come to Isla and we always provide the owners and managers with a list of things we think they could improve on. We had no items on our list for this home. The home is brand new and the owners really out did themselves by thinking of all the little details to really make a home special. Thanks so much for the amazing week and we look forward to staying at your beautiful home in the future!!!!

John L     5/5*****  Stayed September 2018 – TripAdvisor review.  Very nice house with perfect views
We love the island, we come to Isla Mujeres twice a year, the home we normally rent is having work done. We actually found “Casa Flor” on our last trip here as it is only a couple homes away from our norm. The house is new and very nice lottsa space, beautiful views, covered seating outdoors if it’s raining. Two floors entryway into the upper floor. The pool is beautiful the architecture of the home is contemporary Mexican style. Kitchen is well equipped, housekeeping is available 1 free per week, we opted out there are only two of us. The main floor has kitchen living space & entrance out to pool. Plenty of lounges. The sun rises in the east, breathtaking however there are no window treatments on the East side, kind of a bummer when you want to escape the sun & watch some TV the blinding sun makes viewing virtually impossible. This applies to the TV on the main entrance floor as well. The bedrooms do have window treatments. So bring your sunglasses you’ll need them indoors Lol, the one bedroom with twin beds has a TV, & sits on west side of house with window treatments, but the TV was missing cables, so we purchased some but were unable to get it working. Water pressure & hot water is plentiful. (Typically slow in most island homes) We will give this home 5 stars, I believe we are only the 5th or 6 guests to visit this home everything is new, we are assuming they haven’t gotten around to finish the windows yet. Thank you to our hosts! J&R

Tom N 5/5*****  Stayed October 2018 – TripAdvisor review.  Perfect Getaway
My wife and I with 3 other couples recently stayed at this beautiful rental home. With large private bedrooms, each with its own bathroom facilities, there was a perfect amount of privacy and community with our friends. With a large well-appointed kitchen, and dining room we had everything we needed. Whether we were gathered for breakfast, or lounging near the pool, it was heaven. I never got tired of the spectacular ocean view. We loved it!!! The island itself is great, lots of wonderful restaurants and beaches, we had a nice mix of sight-seeing and R & R. This indeed was a little slice of paradise. I was totally comfortable hopping on our Golf Cart and travelling around the island. I would recommend this home on Isla Mujeres to anyone.

Jan E 5/5*****  Stayed October 2018 – TripAdvisor review. Luxurious and Stunning View
A beautiful villa with a great layout and very private bedrooms for 4 couples that stayed there. Everything was there that we needed for our vacation. The highlight was the infinity pool and deck overlooking the Caribbean Sea.

Kauai T 5/5***** Stayed October 2018 – TripAdvisor review. Fabulous place, outstanding location
Staying for a week Oct 13th with 3 other couples for our party of 8. Very comfortable, private, spacious, relaxing time staying at Casa Flor de Mayo! Had fun between the great mix of ordering in, going out to dinner at Madera, Lolo’s and Rosa Serena and gourmet dinner with a private chef Sebastian of Isla Chef (Chef from Fuego de Mar) on our last night which I would highly recommend! Many thanks to Diane and Bob for their hospitality and we will always remember our trip! Had 2 large golf carts from Indios which made getting around easy and fun…

223vinnyv 5/5***** Stayed November 2018 – TripAdvisor review. Perfect.
This place is beyond amazing perfect location everything is new and well stocked they thought of everything from soap to shampoo even lotions and Kleenex it’s like staying in a hotel Most private places give you a roll of toilet paper and a roll of paper towels and then you have to go shopping and bring your own toiletries not here the view was amazing the pool is great the place is clean and Diane the owner was great to deal with an answered all my questions very promptly we had one small issue while we were there and the property management company was on site within 5 to 10 minutes and had it taken care of. I would highly recommend this place we traveled with four couples and loved everything thanks again Dianne

Dongile 5/5***** Stayed November 2018 – Trip Advisor review. Perfectly appointed vacation home for large group
Flor de mayo is a perfectly situated and appointed vacation home for multiple couples. The kitchen is stocked with everything possibly needed to enjoy a meal at the house. We also had a chef come in and they easily prepared a great Argentinian meal for us. House is super clean and has multiple spaces to grab some quiet privacy as well when needed. The surf breaking on the island is a steady back drop. There is a large video library, multiple TVs and too may AC units to count.

Leela 5/5***** Stayed December 2018 – Airbnb review.
This basically brand new house was gorgeous and perfect for the retreat we ran – sparkling clean, comfortable and the owner was communicative and friendly- will definitely stay again!

Chaya 5/5***** Stayed December 2018 – Airbnb review.
This house was absolutely beautiful and so perfect for our family of ten. We loved every minute on the island, and staying in this house made our trip and celebrations all the better! It was sparkling clean, modern, spacious, with a beautiful view of the ocean you can just never get sick of! We will always remember Casa Flor de Mayo and hope to come back one day!

Sasha 5/5***** Stayed December 2018 – VRBO review. Best Vacation spot ever!
Our extended family (6 adults and 2 kids) had the BEST Christmas and holiday week at Casa Flor de Mayo! The house is fully stocked (from the kitchen to the soft new beach towels to tons of movies and a wireless speaker), super comfortable, and is even more gorgeous in person than in the photos. The pool and lounge area with view was incredible — our kids spent hours swimming each morning while we relaxed. We loved that the house was a bit out of town so we could really disconnect, but still the beaches and restaurants were all easily accessible via the golf carts we rented for the week. We also enjoyed the neighborhood – yoga studio a few doors down, a lovely walking trail, and a nearby low-key beach. The owners were very responsive to questions leading up to and during our stay, and their book of recommendations came in very handy. Couldn’t recommend this house more – we hope to be back soon!

Suzanne 5/5***** Stayed December 2018 – Facebook review.
We recently had the opportunity to stay at Casa Flor de Mayo for 10 days to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The house is so beautifully done and the views are incredible. Every morning there was like waking up on Christmas morning! The owners have thought of everything one could possibly need and provided it for their guests. From the shampoo and conditioner in every shower to every utensil, pot or pan, plates and etc. in the completely furnished kitchen. The owner, Diane, even set up appetizers to be delivered to the house when everyone arrived. The appetizers were delicious and included margaritas, which my son-in-law especially enjoyed. This was the best vacation our family has ever taken. We are so grateful that we had the opportunity to stay in this gorgeous home. Thank you again Diane for priceless memories that our family will always cherish.